#16 old beginnings and new endings.

tumblr_mfnp719q6t1risepno1_500_large

“Once more into the fray. Into the last good fight I’ll ever know.”  – The Grey

2012: a year filled with a lot of events, whether they be bad or good, took place.

Some made us smile, such as the young boy who struggled with cerebral palsy, walked towards his father, or the polio-free year, was enough to bring tears to our eyes. But others, made us tear up for a whole different reason altogether. Newtown, or a young girl is shot for being opinionated, and Pakistani shootings, and among many others.

This has become more often, and it’s a disheartening thing. It seems these things will soon become mundane to us soon.

And hopefully, it will come to pass.

For me, last year was a year of trials, but then again, is it not for everyone? Our only difference is how we go about them. Do we choose to stand or do we choose to watch?

That’s why I’ve learnt that we must learn to live in the present, must not expect the future so briskly, and leave behind our past.

So far, 2013 has been a blessing.

Granted, I should remember each and every day as one, but as a meager human, we do not.

We – or more so myself, makes a bucket list of sorts, resolutions, that are never met. So why don’t we just do it? Are we afraid of the outcome? Are we afraid of living? Are we afraid of trying?

It’s time we actually do more. And I mean I, because it’s difficult. It’s hard to find yourself after a storm.

It’s hard to risk it. It hurts.

But it’s worth it.

As a great poet once said, “Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”
― Robert Frost

______

I know we’re way past the end of 2012, but I hope all who seek their Great Perhaps finds it this year!

8 thoughts on “#16 old beginnings and new endings.

      • Thanks! One of the coolest experiences of my life was writing a story on the White Wolf Sanctuary about 60 miles from where I live. I got to spend the day with the caretaker, who rescues sick or abused white wolves from around the country. I got some amazing photos but, best of all, got to stroke the fur of one of the wolves. I even have a small tuft of fur I keep in a ziplock bag. So I guess what I’m trying to say is: I’m crazy about wolves too 🙂 Looking forward to following your posts.

      • You don’t say! Wolves are simply breathtaking in all of the sense. I would jump at a chance to work with those magnificent creatures, let alone write about them! Oh, that’s wonderful! I recently found out that I have a sanctuary no farther than 40 miles along. I plan to go soon, and hope to have such a wonderful experience as you’ve depicted here. 😀 It’s always lovely to meet another wolf enthusiast!

Leave a Reply

