#49 heartened fighter.

IMG_0566

“Dogs are our link to paradise. They don’t know evil or jealousy or discontent. To sit with a dog on a hillside on a glorious afternoon is to be back in Eden, where doing nothing was not boring–it was peace.”
― Milan Kundera

So, recently I’ve had a few uncalled for emergencies. As one falls for the emotions pooling inside an animal’s gaze, it’s hard not to crumble when it hits a low in the health scale. He’s been diagnosed with a debilitating heart condition, and ascites. As someone who tries to be empathetic towards him, it’s something I cannot amount to recreating the pain. He is simply an animal who cannot speak, and his pain is a static portrait upon his face. He’s young, lively, and most importantly a fighter. He’s become my inspiration. Albeit, just a dog, whose often deemed not capable of intelligence, or emotion. Time an time again, he proves me wrong. He’s a child. A creature burdened like one. He’s sharp. Quick. And inane at times. He has much to teach me.

Observation is their key source, and it’s amazing.

I only hope he’ll be around for longer.

8 thoughts on “#49 heartened fighter.

  1. I constantly tell my family, ‘no more dogs’…and constantly fail at that ultimatum. This, what you describe so well, is the hardest part, and the biggest reason I keep repeating the ultimatum. And then, as you also describe so well, the reasons for having them in our lives tips the scale. Hoping for the best for you.

    • It’s an ailment of the mind, irreversible, isn’t it? I have more than the expectation of a few family pets, they practically overflow. So, I only hurt myself. Thank you! I just hope he keeps on fighting.

Leave a Reply

